Skip to content

Bahrain to normalise relations with Israel.

Image Credit: AP Photo/Andrew Harnik

On Friday, the President of the United States, Donald Trump tweeted that Bahrain will join the United Arab Emirates in normalizing relations with Israel.

Donald Trump tweeted that he talked to the King of Bahrain Hamad Bin Isa Al Khaifa , and Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu by phone. A joint statement issued by all the three countries announced that Bahrain and Israel agreed on full diplomatic ties.

The joint statement said ‘This is a historic breakthrough to further peace in the Middle East. Opening direct dialogue and ties between these two dynamic societies and advanced economies will continue the positive transformation of the Middle East and increase stability, security, and prosperity in the region.’

The United Arab Emirates Ministry of Foreign affair welcomed the agreement between the two countries. UAE-Israel diplomatic agreement was announced on August 13th, and is said to be signed on Tuesday in the White House.

The Palestinian government criticized Bahrain’s decision to make peace with Israel, and recalled Bahrain’s ambassador. The Foreign Ministry of Palestine said that ‘great harm it causes to the inalienable national rights of the Palestinian people and joint Arab action’. The Palestinians rely on a unified Arab response in dealing with Israeli’s aggression and annexation of its territory.

Benjamin Netanyahu expressed his excitement for this new peace deal, ‘This is a new era of peace. Peace for peace. Economy for economy. We have invested in peace for many years and now peace will invest in us,’ he said.

Donald Trump expressed his satisfaction on seeing a second Arab country agreeing on full diplomatic ties with Israel. He said ‘ Another historic breakthrough today! Our two great friends Israel and the Kingdom of Bahrain agree to a peace deal- the second Arab country to make peace with Israel in 30 days.’

Bahrain will be the fourth country to recognize Israel as a country, since its creation in 1948. The other countries are UAE, Egypt and Jordan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: