Skip to content

Japan, US, India and Australia begin naval war games.

Image Credit:

Today, Japan, US, India and Australia started the Naval war games in the Bay of Bengal, known as Malabar 2020. The exercise which has been conducted annually since 1992, included Australia this year in an effort to display its willingness to balance Chinese military and economic reach in the region.

The Indian Navy deployed five ships and a submarine, US sent John McCain missile destroyer, Australia sent a Ballarat frigate, while Japan sent a destroyer. Read more about the Malabar 2020 in the following link:

There will be no contact between the troops of the four countries due to COVID-19 restrictions. The first part of the naval drill will last till November 6, and complex and advanced naval exercises will be conducted. This includes anti-submarine, anti-air and surface warfare operations. Later on this month, US and India will deploy aircraft carriers in the second phase, where the exercise will occur in the Arabian Sea.

The Australian Defense Minister, Linda Reynolds said that the exercise is an:

Important opportunity to work in concert with like-minded nations to support a secure, open and inclusive Indo-Pacific region.

Linda Reynolds

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: